A hospital bed can make home care safer and easier. It raises to a comfortable height for the person giving care, lowers for getting in and out, and moves the head and knees into positions a flat bed can’t manage. The trouble is how it looks. Many families don’t want a bedroom, or a living room, that feels like a hospital ward. Spouses often don’t want to give up sharing a bed.
A growing group of beds tries to solve this. They keep the useful parts of a hospital bed, such as powered height, head and foot positioning, and sometimes tilt, but they look like ordinary bedroom furniture. This guide compares eight of them from six manufacturers. We cover what each one is, the sizes it comes in, how high and low it goes, what it costs, and the trade-offs that are easy to miss.
This page is part of our furniture-style beds section. If you’re still deciding whether you need a hospital bed at all, start with how to choose a hospital bed for home.
What makes a hospital bed look like a regular bed?
No single feature makes a bed look residential. The makers in this guide use a mix of the same few design choices:
- Hidden mechanics. Transfer Master says the Supernal is designed “to hide all of its electric components” so it “look[s] like any other” bed (Transfer Master). Med-Mizer’s SelectCare has concealed components and casters that “extend at the push of a button,” then stay out of sight (Med-Mizer). SonderCare’s Aura uses concealed wheel-casters (SonderCare).
- Furniture finishes. The SelectCare comes in four wood finishes (Obsidian Oak, Gray Oak, Natural Walnut, and Cherry). The ActiveCare comes in three. The Aura pairs aluminum with espresso woodgrain. Transfer Master offers a cherry-finish headboard, and Dawn House sells an optional headboard.
- Regular mattress sizes. Several of these beds come in full, queen, and split or dual king, so you can use ordinary bedding and, in some cases, keep sharing a bed.
- A smaller footprint against the wall. The Supernal 3 “hugs the wall so you can reach your nightstand” (Transfer Master).
- Less visible rails. Dawn House offers a single optional support rail instead of full side rails. SonderCare’s Aura uses rails that nest vertically.
Hospital bed or hi-low adjustable bed? Why the label matters
The beds on this page fall into two groups, and the difference is more than marketing.
Under U.S. federal regulations, an AC-powered adjustable hospital bed is “a device intended for medical purposes” with a built-in motor and remote controls that adjust “the height and surface contour of the bed,” and it “includes movable and latchable side rails.” The FDA classifies it as a Class II medical device (21 CFR 880.5100).
Not every furniture-style bed is sold that way:
- Sold as home hospital beds: Med-Mizer describes the SelectCare as a home hospital bed in a furniture style and the ActiveCare as a rotating medical bed. SonderCare sells the Aura as a home hospital bed and lists it as certified to IEC 60601-1 and FDA registered. SonderCare also draws the line itself: it describes its separate Impulse Essential as a “residential comfort bed” that offers height and head-and-foot adjustment “without the advanced comfort and safety functions of a certified hospital bed” (SonderCare).
- Sold as hi-low adjustable beds: Transfer Master calls the Supernal a hi-low bed with “hospital bed features,” and says the Supernal 5 “gives you all the functions of a hospital bed.” Dawn House calls its bed a “hospital bed alternative.” Golden calls the Passport a hi-low adjustable bed. Flexabed markets the Hi-Low SL as “a luxury alternative to hospital beds for home,” but its own product guide also says: “A Flexabed adjustable bed should not be considered an alternative to a hospital bed. A physician should be consulted when health issues are involved” (Flexabed Product Guide).
What this means for you: if a doctor, hospice nurse, or therapist has recommended a hospital bed for a specific reason, such as positioning, pressure-injury risk, or use with a patient lift, tell them which bed you’re considering and ask whether it meets that need. A hi-low adjustable bed may be a great fit for someone planning ahead or living independently. It may not be the right choice when a care team has specified hospital-bed features.
The 8 beds at a glance
The table lists the beds alphabetically by brand. It is not a ranking. Click a bed’s name to jump to its full profile.
| Bed | Sold as | Sizes | Height range* | Weight capacity | Trendelenburg | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dawn House Bed | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin Long (38" x 80") | 10"–16" | 750 lb, evenly distributed (all bases). Not designed to lift that weight in the head or foot section alone. | Not listed | Twin XL system (base + mattress) listed at $4,198 |
| Flexabed Hi-Low SL | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin, Full, Queen, and Split King | 16.5"–24" to top of low-profile mattress | 400 lb single occupant; 700 lb in a dual-occupant bed, with no one occupant over 400 lb | Not listed | No price published on the manufacturer’s site |
| Golden Technologies Golden Passport Hi Low Adjustable Bed | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin XL, Queen, and King (two Twin XL) | 10.5"–28" (floor to top of deck) | Not stated on the manufacturer page we checked. Ask before buying. | Reverse Trendelenburg via a head-section tilt | MSRP for base + mattress: $5,798 (Twin XL), $6,898 (Queen), $11,598 (King) |
| Med-Mizer ActiveCare Standard | rotating hospital bed | 36" or 42" wide x 80" long | 12.5"–27.5" deck height | 600 lb maximum safe working load | Optional (Trendelenburg and reverse) | $9,682 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $14,078 list price) |
| Med-Mizer SelectCare | home hospital bed | Sleeping surface 36", 39", or 42" wide | 10"–25" deck height | 600 lb maximum safe working load | Yes (Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg) | $5,887 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $7,524 list price) |
| SonderCare Aura Premium 39" | home hospital bed | 39" x 79" sleeping surface (44" x 81" outside dimensions) | 10"–32" platform height | 500 lb | Yes (tilt function) | $6,999 for the Aura Premium 39"; SonderCare also lists the 48" version at $8,999 and the Companion 78" split king at $12,999 |
| Transfer Master Supernal 3 Hi-Low | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80") | 10.5"–20.5" deck to floor | Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed) | No (has a European-style head tilt instead) | Starting at $3,999 |
| Transfer Master Supernal 5 | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80") | 12"–24" deck to floor | Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed) | Yes: Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg (10°), plus cardiac chair | Starting at $6,299 |
* Height ranges are as published by each manufacturer and are not all measured the same way. Some are measured to the deck (the platform under the mattress), some to the top of the mattress, and the Golden Passport’s top figure includes add-on legs. See how to compare heights below. Prices were checked October 6, 2026 and change often.
Furniture-style beds compared, one by one
Each profile below uses the manufacturer’s published specifications, linked under each profile. We list the beds alphabetically. We have not tested these beds hands-on for this version of the guide, so we don’t rate comfort, noise, or build quality. For each bed we say who it may suit, based on its published features, and what to check before you buy.
Dawn House Bed
- How the maker describes it
- A hospital bed alternative (hi-low smart bed)
- Sizes
- Twin Long (38" x 80"); Full (54" x 75"); Queen (60" x 80"); King (76" x 80"); Split King (76" x 80", two independently adjusting halves)
- Height range
- 10"–16". Base height without legs and without mattress, per the manufacturer. Add the mattress thickness to get sleeping-surface height.
- Weight capacity
- 750 lb, evenly distributed (all bases). Not designed to lift that weight in the head or foot section alone.
- Trendelenburg
- Not listed
- Published price
- Twin XL system (base + mattress) listed at $4,198 (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential-style base in standard bedroom sizes, up to king and split king
- Optional headboard (47 in tall, 4 in deep)
- Optional single support rail instead of full side rails
Notable features
- Powered hi-low height adjustment
- Optional support rail that moves with the base
- Motion-activated under-bed LED lighting
- Passive sleep and health sensing (sleep, heart rate, respiration, snoring) through the Dawn House app
- Automatic anti-snore head raise (about 12 degrees) and rise-to-wake
- Voice control console that doubles as a wireless phone charger, plus a backlit wireless remote
- Massage with three intensity levels and a 10-minute timer
Check before you buy
- The 10–16 in. range is measured without a mattress, so the sleeping surface sits higher once the mattress is on.
- Health and app features need a smartphone and Wi-Fi.
- The Full size is 75 in. long, shorter than the other sizes.
- You are responsible for measuring hallways, stairs, and elevators. Dawn House says an order that cannot be delivered for that reason is subject to a 25% restocking fee.
- No Trendelenburg position is listed.
Who it may suit: someone who wants a bed that looks like a modern bedroom bed, in sizes all the way up to king and split king, and who likes extras such as voice control, under-bed lighting, and passive sleep tracking. Its height range is the smallest in this group: the base moves 6 inches (10 to 16 inches without a mattress). It lists the highest weight limit here (750 lb, evenly distributed). Trendelenburg isn’t listed.
Source: The Dawn House Bed (product page and specifications)
Flexabed Hi-Low SL
- How the maker describes it
- Hi-low adjustable bed, described by Flexabed as a luxury alternative to hospital beds for home
- Sizes
- Twin, Full, Queen, and Split King; Lengths of 74, 80, or 84 in.; A king can pair one Hi-Low SL with a non-hi-low Flexabed (Premier or Value-Flex) for a partner
- Height range
- 16.5"–24" to top of low-profile mattress. With leg pads. Add 2.25 in. with casters (18.75–26.25 in.). Foundation alone: 11–18.5 in. Thicker mattresses sit higher.
- Weight capacity
- 400 lb single occupant; 700 lb in a dual-occupant bed, with no one occupant over 400 lb
- Trendelenburg
- Not listed
- Published price
- No price published on the manufacturer’s site (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential mattress with a knit quilted panel
- Standard bedroom sizes and custom lengths
- A decorative headboard can be mounted on the wall behind the bed
Notable features
- Three motors: head, foot, and whole-bed height
- Head section lifts to 73°, foot to 40° (product guide)
- Wired or one-touch wireless remote
- Locking casters or stationary leg pads
- Factory-installed mounting plates for optional side rails
- Options include battery backup, under-bed lighting, Bluetooth, massage, and voice activation
- Limited lifetime warranty
Check before you buy
- Flexabed’s own product guide says a Flexabed adjustable bed “should not be considered an alternative to a hospital bed” and advises consulting a physician when health issues are involved.
- Headboards and bed frames cannot attach to the Hi-Low SL, and footboards cannot be used.
- As it rises 7.5 in., the bed also travels 7.5 in. toward the foot end, so leave room at the foot.
- Flexabed’s product guide says leg extensions cannot be used on the Hi-Low SL, while a general FAQ on its site mentions them. Confirm with the dealer.
Who it may suit: couples who want one side with powered height and the other side as a regular adjustable bed under the same sheets. Flexabed lets you pair a Hi-Low SL with its Premier or Value-Flex models in a king. It also suits people who want a residential mattress in a custom length (74, 80, or 84 inches). The powered rise is 7.5 inches. Keep in mind Flexabed’s own caution that its adjustable beds shouldn’t be treated as a substitute for a hospital bed.
Sources: Hi-Low Adjustable Bed (Flexabed); Flexabed’s Hi-Low SL Replaces the Hi-Low Adjustable Bed (full height specs); Flexabed Product Guide (PDF, hosted by dealer Mobility Masters)
Golden Technologies Golden Passport Hi Low Adjustable Bed
- How the maker describes it
- Hi low adjustable bed
- Sizes
- Twin XL, Queen, and King (two Twin XL)
- Height range
- 10.5"–28" (floor to top of deck). 10.5 in. is with no leg sections added; 28 in. is with all leg sections added. The powered rise itself is up to 11 in.
- Weight capacity
- Not stated on the manufacturer page we checked. Ask before buying.
- Trendelenburg
- Reverse Trendelenburg via a head-section tilt
- Published price
- MSRP for base + mattress: $5,798 (Twin XL), $6,898 (Queen), $11,598 (King) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential adjustable-base design in common bedroom sizes
- Foam mattress with a machine-washable stretch cover
- Under-bed LED lighting
Notable features
- Up to 11 in. of powered vertical rise
- 22-button wireless remote with presets (TV, Zero Gravity, Flat, Quiet Sleep) and a built-in flashlight
- Dual-zone vibrating massage
- Bluetooth app control
- Leg extensions included (2, 2.5, and 5 in.)
- Firm transfer edge on the mattress
- Split head and foot base sections for easier delivery
Check before you buy
- The 28 in. top height needs all leg extensions installed; the bed’s own powered rise is up to 11 in.
- Side rails, rail covers, and locking casters are sold separately.
- Warranty: lifetime on frame, 3 years on mechanical and electrical parts, 1 year on labor, 5 years on mattress.
Who it may suit: someone who wants a residential adjustable-bed look with a moderate powered rise (up to 11 inches), plus massage, app control, and a firm transfer edge on the mattress. Golden publishes MSRPs for the base and mattress together and separately. The page we checked didn’t list a weight capacity, so ask for it in writing.
Source: Passport (Golden Technologies)
Med-Mizer ActiveCare Standard
- How the maker describes it
- Rotating medical bed
- Sizes
- 36" or 42" wide x 80" long
- Height range
- 12.5"–27.5" deck height. Deck height, without mattress, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- 600 lb maximum safe working load
- Trendelenburg
- Optional (Trendelenburg and reverse)
- Published price
- $9,682 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $14,078 list price) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Home-style finishes: Obsidian Oak, Gray Oak, Cherry
Notable features
- OneButtonSafeTurn: one button turns the bed into a full chair position for getting out
- Powered recliner with independent head and knee
- Head section rises to nearly 90° while rolling back in place, to reduce shear
- Built-in stand assist via powered height (12.5–27.5 in.)
- Options: night light, mobility bar, foot rails, side rails, battery backup, staff controls, 4 in. bed extender
Check before you buy
- The most expensive bed in this comparison.
- Single-sleeper widths only.
- Because the bed turns into a chair, ask Med-Mizer for the floor space it needs in its rotated position before you plan the room.
Who it may suit: someone whose biggest problem is getting out of bed safely. With one button, the ActiveCare turns into a full chair position. Its powered height (12.5 to 27.5 inches) then helps with standing. It is the most expensive single bed in this comparison and comes only in single-sleeper widths (36 or 42 inches).
Med-Mizer SelectCare
- How the maker describes it
- Home hospital bed, furniture style
- Sizes
- Sleeping surface 36", 39", or 42" wide; 80" or 84" long
- Height range
- 10"–25" deck height. Deck height, without mattress, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- 600 lb maximum safe working load
- Trendelenburg
- Yes (Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg)
- Published price
- $5,887 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $7,524 list price) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Four wood finishes: Obsidian Oak, Gray Oak, Natural Walnut, Cherry
- Concealed components
- Casters that extend at the push of a button, then stay out of sight
Notable features
- One-button chair position, independent head and knee
- Clinical-Contour surface intended to reduce sliding toward the foot
- Built-in stand assist via powered height
- Backlit pendant control with lockouts
- Options: multiple rail styles, integrated scale, under-bed lighting, battery backup
- Open under-bed clearance for patient lifts
- Therapeutic mattress options up to an 8 in. low-air-loss alternating-pressure mattress
Check before you buy
- Single-sleeper widths only (36–42 in.); no queen or couples version is listed.
- Med-Mizer lists free ground freight to the lower 48 states. Ask whether in-home setup is included.
Who it may suit: someone who needs features usually found on clinical beds, but in a wood finish. It has one of the lowest decks here (10 inches), Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg, an optional built-in scale, and therapeutic mattress options up to low air loss. It comes in three widths (36, 39, or 42 inches) and two lengths, with a 600 lb safe working load. There is no queen or couples version.
Sources: SelectCare Bed (Med-Mizer); SelectCare (Med-Mizer online store)
Transfer Master Supernal 3 Hi-Low
- How the maker describes it
- Hi-low bed with hospital bed features
- Sizes
- Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80"); Dual King (two Twins side by side)
- Height range
- 10.5"–20.5" deck to floor. Deck to floor, per the manufacturer. Transfer Master notes the listed height changes if casters are used.
- Weight capacity
- Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed)
- Trendelenburg
- No (has a European-style head tilt instead)
- Published price
- Starting at $3,999 (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Designed to hide all electrical components
- Wall-hugging design keeps the nightstand within reach
- Optional cherry-finish headboard
Notable features
- Head (60°), foot (35°), and hi-low adjustment
- Variable massage
- Backlit wireless hand control
- Emergency power down
- Add-ons: half rails, bamboo rail covers, battery backup, 2.5 in. or 5 in. locking casters
Check before you buy
- No Trendelenburg. If that position matters, see the Supernal 5.
- Transfer Master headboards cannot be used when two beds are pushed together as a Dual King.
- On Transfer Master’s online shop, white-glove in-home delivery is an extra $499, or $799 with stairs.
Who it may suit: couples (full, queen, or dual king) and anyone looking for a lower-cost way into a furniture-style hi-low bed. At $3,999, its starting price is the lowest we found among these eight, though what’s included varies from maker to maker. The deck moves from 10.5 to 20.5 inches. It does not have Trendelenburg.
Sources: Supernal 3 Hi-Low (Transfer Master); Supernal 3 Hi-Low (Transfer Master online shop, delivery options)
Transfer Master Supernal 5
- How the maker describes it
- Adjustable bed system with all the functions of a hospital bed
- Sizes
- Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80"); Dual King (two Twins side by side)
- Height range
- 12"–24" deck to floor. Deck to floor, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed)
- Trendelenburg
- Yes: Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg (10°), plus cardiac chair
- Published price
- Starting at $6,299 (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Designed to hide all electrical components
- Optional cherry-finish headboard
Notable features
- Head (60°), foot (35°), hi-low, Trendelenburg, reverse Trendelenburg, cardiac chair
- Backlit wireless hand control
- Variable massage
- Compatible with most patient lift systems
- Add-ons: half rails, bamboo rail covers, battery backup
Check before you buy
- Lowest height is 12 in., higher than the Supernal 3’s 10.5 in.
- Transfer Master headboards cannot be used when two beds are pushed together as a Dual King.
Who it may suit: people who like the Supernal’s look and sizes but need more positions. The Supernal 5 adds Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg (10 degrees each) and a cardiac chair position. Transfer Master says it works with most patient lift systems. Its lowest height is 12 inches, a little higher than the Supernal 3.
Which furniture-style bed fits your situation?
Use this section to narrow the list. Then confirm the details with the seller and, where health is involved, with the care team.
For couples who want to keep sharing a bed
- Transfer Master Supernal 3 and 5: Full (53 x 80 in.), Queen (60 x 80 in.), or Dual King made from two Twins.
- Flexabed Hi-Low SL: Full, Queen, or Split King. A king can pair a Hi-Low SL with a different Flexabed model for the partner.
- Dawn House: Full, Queen, King, or Split King. In the split king, each side adjusts independently.
- Golden Passport: Queen, or King made from two Twin XL bases.
- SonderCare Aura Companion 78”: described by SonderCare as a king-size hospital bed for one person that can convert into a split king for couples.
In a one-piece full or queen, both people share one deck, so raising the head, foot, or height affects both sides. A split or dual king gives each person their own base. Our guide to hospital beds for couples compares these setups in more depth.
If falls out of bed are a worry
Lower beds mean a shorter distance to the floor. These are the lowest published positions. Most are measured without a mattress, so the sleeping surface will sit higher:
- 10 in.: Med-Mizer SelectCare (deck), Dawn House (base), SonderCare Aura (platform; 17 in. to the top of its 7 in. mattress)
- 10.5 in.: Transfer Master Supernal 3 (deck), Golden Passport (deck, no legs added)
- 11 in.: Flexabed Hi-Low SL foundation (16.5 in. to the top of its low-profile mattress)
- 12 in.: Transfer Master Supernal 5 (deck)
- 12.5 in.: Med-Mizer ActiveCare (deck)
A low bed is only one part of preventing falls. Ask the care team about the person’s specific risks. Our safety section will cover rails, alarms, and other measures.
If a caregiver will be doing hands-on care
A higher bed lets a caregiver change sheets, help with washing, or reposition someone without bending as far. These are the highest published positions:
- SonderCare Aura: 32 in. platform (39 in. to the top of the mattress)
- Golden Passport: 28 in., but only with all leg extensions added. The powered rise itself is up to 11 in.
- Med-Mizer ActiveCare: 27.5 in. deck
- Med-Mizer SelectCare: 25 in. deck
- Transfer Master Supernal 5: 24 in. deck
- Flexabed Hi-Low SL: 24 in. to the top of the low-profile mattress (18.5 in. foundation)
- Transfer Master Supernal 3: 20.5 in. deck
- Dawn House: 16 in. base, without mattress
If you need Trendelenburg positioning
Trendelenburg tilts the whole bed head-down. Reverse Trendelenburg tilts it head-up. If a clinician has recommended these positions, these beds list them:
- Both directions: Transfer Master Supernal 5 (10 degrees each way) and Med-Mizer SelectCare
- Tilt function: SonderCare Aura
- Optional add-on: Med-Mizer ActiveCare
- Reverse only: Golden Passport, through a tilt in the head section
- Not listed: Transfer Master Supernal 3, Flexabed Hi-Low SL, Dawn House
If getting out of bed is the hardest part
- Med-Mizer ActiveCare: one button turns the bed into a chair position for getting out, with powered height to help with standing.
- Med-Mizer SelectCare: powered height with built-in stand assist and a one-button chair position.
- Rails and edges: Dawn House offers a support rail that moves with the base. Transfer Master offers half rails. Flexabed has factory mounting plates for optional side rails. SonderCare includes two assist rails with three height settings. Golden builds a firm transfer edge into the Passport mattress.
For larger or heavier users
Makers state weight capacity in different ways. Some say “evenly distributed,” some say “safe working load,” and some give a limit per person. Always ask what the number includes.
- Dawn House: 750 lb, evenly distributed (all bases)
- Med-Mizer SelectCare and ActiveCare: 600 lb maximum safe working load
- SonderCare Aura Premium: 500 lb
- Transfer Master Supernal 3 and 5: 400 lb (Twin), 500 lb (Full and Queen), evenly distributed
- Flexabed Hi-Low SL: 400 lb per occupant, 700 lb in a dual-occupant bed
- Golden Passport: not stated on the page we checked
For weights near or above these limits, see our upcoming guide in the types section on bariatric (heavy-duty) beds.
How to compare bed heights without getting tricked by the numbers
Height specs are the easiest place to compare apples with oranges. Four things change the number you see:
- Deck versus mattress. Most makers measure to the deck, the platform the mattress sits on. Flexabed shows why that matters. The Hi-Low SL foundation is 11 inches at its lowest, but it’s 16.5 inches to the top of a low-profile mattress and 21 inches to the top of a gel mattress (Flexabed).
- Casters and legs. Flexabed says a caster adds 2.25 inches over a leg pad. Transfer Master notes that the Supernal 3’s listed height changes when casters are used. Golden’s 28-inch top height assumes all leg extensions are installed.
- Mattress thickness. Dawn House’s 10 to 16 inches is measured without a mattress, so add the thickness of whichever mattress you choose.
- How far the bed moves. The range from lowest to highest matters as much as either end. Dawn House’s base moves 6 inches. The Flexabed moves 7.5 inches and also travels 7.5 inches toward the foot as it rises. The Supernal 3 moves 10 inches, the Golden Passport up to 11 inches, the SelectCare and ActiveCare 15 inches, and the SonderCare Aura 22 inches.
A simple way to compare: measure from the floor to the top of the mattress on the bed or chair the person uses comfortably now. Then ask each seller for the lowest and highest top-of-mattress height with the exact mattress and casters or legs you’d buy.
What furniture-style beds cost, and what Medicare pays
These are the prices each manufacturer published on October 6, 2026. What’s included, such as a mattress, rails, or delivery, varies, so compare complete quotes rather than headline prices.
| Bed | Published price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer Master Supernal 3 | Starting at $3,999 | White-glove in-home delivery is $499 extra on Transfer Master’s shop, or $799 with stairs |
| Dawn House Bed | $4,198 | Twin XL system, base and mattress |
| Med-Mizer SelectCare | $5,887 | Shown against a $7,524 list price. Free ground freight to the lower 48 states |
| Golden Passport | $5,798 to $11,598 MSRP | Base and mattress: Twin XL $5,798, Queen $6,898, King $11,598 |
| Transfer Master Supernal 5 | Starting at $6,299 | |
| SonderCare Aura Premium 39” | $6,999 | SonderCare’s product data lists $599 drop-ship or $749 white-glove delivery. The 48” version is $8,999, and the Companion split king is $12,999 |
| Med-Mizer ActiveCare Standard | $9,682 | Shown against a $14,078 list price. Free ground freight to the lower 48 states |
| Flexabed Hi-Low SL | Not published by the manufacturer | Ask a dealer for a written quote |
Medicare usually won’t pay for these beds. Medicare Part B covers medically necessary durable medical equipment that a provider prescribes for use at home. After the Part B deductible, you pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount, and Medicare pays only suppliers enrolled in Medicare (Medicare.gov). Coverage depends on the type of bed. Medicare’s equipment contractors say fixed-height, variable-height, and semi-electric hospital beds can be covered when specific criteria are met. They also say “a total electric hospital bed… is not covered; the height adjustment feature is a convenience feature” (Medicare DME contractors).
Every bed on this page has powered height adjustment, so most families pay for them privately. Our Medicare guide explains what Medicare does cover and how to get it, and our cost section will compare prices across all bed types.
Delivery, measuring, and setup
Furniture-style beds are heavy and bulky. Plan the delivery before you order:
- Measure the whole path, not just the bedroom. Dawn House lists carton sizes of 43.5 x 84.5 x 10.5 inches for its Twin Long and 64 x 84.5 x 10.5 inches for its Queen. It says customers are responsible for measuring hallways, stairwells, and elevators. An order that can’t be delivered for that reason is subject to a 25% restocking fee (Dawn House). Our sizes guide has a room and doorway checker.
- Ask exactly what delivery includes. Find out whether delivery is curbside, carried inside, or fully assembled. Ask whether stairs cost extra and whether packaging is taken away. Transfer Master, for example, prices white-glove delivery separately and charges more for stairs.
- Leave room for movement. The Flexabed Hi-Low SL moves 7.5 inches toward the foot as it rises. A rotating bed like the ActiveCare needs space to turn into a chair, so ask Med-Mizer for the floor space it needs in that position.
- Check power. Dawn House lists a standard 120V supply and recommends a surge protector. Several makers offer a battery backup so the bed can still move during a power cut: Transfer Master, Med-Mizer, SonderCare, and Flexabed list one as an option.
- Think about headboards early. Transfer Master headboards don’t work with a dual king. Flexabed headboards can’t attach to the Hi-Low SL. If a headboard matters to you, confirm how it mounts.
Our at-home section will cover room setup and delivery in detail.
Safety: rails, gaps, and mattresses
Making a bed look like furniture doesn’t change the basics of bed safety.
- Entrapment is a real risk. The FDA has published guidance to reduce life-threatening entrapment in hospital bed systems. It describes the body parts at risk and the gaps where people can become trapped, and recommends dimensional limits for those gaps. The FDA also notes that not every patient is at risk and not every bed poses a risk (FDA).
- Use matching parts. The FDA encourages manufacturers to share information on mattress dimensions and compatible components. Ask the seller which mattresses and rails are designed for the bed, and avoid mixing in parts that weren’t made for it.
- Rails are often optional on these beds. On the hi-low adjustable beds, rails are add-ons: Transfer Master half rails, Flexabed side rails, the Dawn House support rail, and Golden’s side rails. Whether someone should have rails at all is a clinical question, so ask their doctor, nurse, or therapist.
- Respect weight limits. Dawn House notes that its base is not designed to lift its full rated weight in the head or foot section alone.
Questions to ask before you buy
- Is this bed sold as a hospital bed or as an adjustable bed? Does that matter for the person’s care plan?
- What is the lowest and highest height to the top of the mattress, with the exact mattress and casters or legs I’m buying?
- What does the weight capacity include: the person only, or the mattress and bedding too?
- Which rails and mattresses are designed for this bed?
- Does it have the positions we need, such as Trendelenburg, chair, or a preset transfer height?
- For couples: does each side adjust on its own?
- What does the price include, and what does delivery cost (curbside, inside, assembled, stairs)?
- What is the warranty on the frame, the motors and electronics, labor, and the mattress?
- Is there a battery backup or an emergency lowering feature?
- What is the return policy? Are there restocking fees or non-returnable items?
How we researched this guide
We built this comparison from manufacturer product pages and documents, the Code of Federal Regulations, FDA guidance, and Medicare sources. We checked all of them on October 6, 2026, and each is linked in the sources list below. We included beds that are marketed for home use, look like residential furniture, and have powered height adjustment, and whose key specifications we could confirm from the manufacturer. Where a manufacturer didn’t publish a figure, we say so rather than estimate it.
We have not tested these beds hands-on for this version. We don’t rank them or score comfort, noise, or durability. If we add hands-on evaluations later, we’ll label them clearly and explain what we measured. You can read more in how we evaluate beds.